Michael Dunlop wins fastest TT race ever! - Motofire

Michael Dunlop wins fastest TT race ever!

Dunlop makes history with incredible win.

Michael Dunlop opened the 2016 Isle of Man TT with his twelfth TT win in the RST Superbike TT race.

Up until today, the average lap speed of the Mountain course was 132.298 mph, but those numbers have now been reduced dramatically with the winner’s speed of 133.393 mph setting a new course record.

He also recorded the first ever ‘sub 17 min’ lap with a lap time of 16m 58.254s.

With a gap of 19 seconds between himself and the second place finisher, Ian Hutchinson, the performance of Dunlop is even more spectacular – especially when you consider that ‘Hutchy’ himself broke the previous speed record as well on this run with a 132.892 mph.


King of the Mountain, John McGuinness was third.

“If I could tell you where this bike was built and with the size of the team you’d never believe it. It’s the smallest workshop I’ve ever seen. And we done it!” – Michael Dunlop

Elsewhere, Bruce Anstey on the Honda RCV213 could only manage eighth place, after carrying injuries collected after a crash in practice earlier in the week.

The fastest recorded speed on the course was at Sulby with Bruce Anstey hitting 192.3 mph on the Honda MotoGP machine.


view all posts

Join us as we aim to lift the coverage of motorcycling online. If it's bikes, then it'll be on Motofire. And don't forget to follow us on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube for all of the latest as well!

More like this...

Watch this year’s Pikes Peak live! Famous US road race will be broadcast live over the internet. To celebrate the 95th anniversary of the International Hill Climb at Pikes Peak audiences across the world will be able to follow the act...
Norton win TT Technical Excellence award British motorcycle manufacturer were the only team to have two top-10 riders in both the Superbike and Senior TT races. It was a tricky race week at the Isle of Man TT for many teams and riders, but ...
Video: Ian Hutchinson’s TT crash! Isle of Man TT racer and probably the bravest man in motorcycling suffered a horrendous crash last week during the Senior race of the 2017 TT. Having already added to his tally of TT trophies earlier...
TT: Dunlop sails to Suzuki senior triumph Storming win for Dunlop after restart. Michael Dunlop proved he could win on any manufacturer bike with a stunning win after a red-flagged, restarting Senior TT. With the first attempt at running ...
TT: Anstey wins electric TT Zero Mugen Shinden take both top spots with an Anstey/Martin one-two. New Zealander Bruce Anstey took the TT Zero from start to finish with a commanding display the electric motorcycle racing class. Wi...


0 Comments Join the Conversation →